TCU Daily Skiff Tuesday, April 13, 2004
Frog Fountain
Skiff page design
Skiff and Image staffs awarded at journalism conventions

The TCU Daily Skiff’s advertising staff, news staff and the Image magazine staff have been recognized for excellence in their fields at national and state student publication conventions.

“I’m pleased that the Skiff on both the advertising side and the news side have gotten recognition from two different organizations,” said Robert Bohler, director of student publications. “I’m also pleased with the design and photography awards won by the Image and the Skiff.”

• The Skiff advertising staff won two first-place national awards for best training program and for best special section at the College Newspaper Business and Advertising Managers convention in Seattle. Under the direction of Karla Williams, who was the advertising manager for the 2003 spring and fall semesters, the staff also won two third-place awards for best display spot color and best classified group promotion at the convention, which took place in March.

• Alexis Hoefer, an advertising designer, won a second-place award for best single advertisement at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association annual convention in Austin, which took place in April.

• Image magazine won the Sweepstakes award for the most awards won at the Austin convention. Its 16 awards include second place for a single issue and second place overall. Brandon Ortiz, the Image’s fall 2003 editor, won first place for a news feature story. Other first-place winners include Molly Beuerman, feature photo; Sarah Krebs, information graphic; Ortiz, Krebs, Stephen Spillman and Ty Halasz, story package.

• Second-place winners include Krebs, cover design; Halasz, action photo; Emily Baker, column; John Mark-Day, feature story; and Colleen Casey, picture story.

• Third-place winners include Baker, feature story, and Jeff Brubaker, column. Jonathan Sampson, Image’s 2003 spring editor, won third place with Leslie Moeller for an illustration.

• Braden Howell won honorable mention for a news feature story and Halasz won honorable mention for color feature photo.

• The Skiff news staff won eight awards in the Division I daily newspaper category at the Austin convention, including first place in the general column category by Ortiz.

• Second-place winners include Lacey Krause, feature page design; Carlos Alvarado, sports column; and Halasz, sports feature photo. Megan Stroup and Elizabeth Serio won second place in the online newspaper category.

• Third-place winners include Jennifer Hall, sports page design; and Hall and Brian Wooddell, special section/edition.

• Hall and Krause won honorable mention for a special section/edition, along with Ortiz in the television feature story category. Hall also won honorable mention for opinion page design.

• The Skiff was lead by Jacque Petersell in the spring of 2003 and Kelly Morris in the fall of 2003.
TCU Daily Skiff ©2004
news campus opinion sports features search awards skiff home advertising jobs back issues skiffTV image magazine converging news contact